Both Rescued

You saw me there in my cage that day.
I saw you too and could not take my eyes away.
You read my story on the cage door.
I read your face and saw that there was more.
You noticed that I was dog of the day.
I noticed you were down in some way.
You took me out to have a look.
I followed and saw through your book.
You saw my look and said I was the one.
I saw your look and knew it was to be done.
You took me away from the shelter that day.
I will take you away from your sorrows for always.
We were both rescued today
You from your pain, and I from my day.

Leave a Reply

