From Afar

What brings my eye that I saw you from afar.
You on one side and I on the other.
A river leaves us to many miles apart.
I wish to cross but do not dare.
To dare to cross will ignite much dislike
From both our families alike.
For our families don’t like each other much.
But can I without them knowing
Cross the river to thee.
If I do would you love me?
I would love to see you and make you mine.
But a river stands between you and I.
The night grows within my sights.
I will attempt to cross tonight.
I will silently leave no trail behind,
And hopefully I will see you soon.

Leave a Reply

