Don’t Want To Look

I walk up slowly to the place.
A young child scary to death
To see someone in a coffin lying asleep,
Afraid to look upon one lying there peacefully,
Hoping they would not wake up for me.
I shake as I near, my head bow down,
I do not want to look, afraid to draw near.
My parents push me onward,
So I can say good bye,
But I do not lift my head as I want to edge on by.
I take one glance as I turn to leave,
I thought I saw movement there.
I shake my head and look again
But it was just my imagination coming into hand.

Leave a Reply

