Pondering

I feel old siting behind this chair.
Heavy weight on my shoulders is what I bear.
For four years I wait,
Waiting for this war to end.
Tall as I am I can see over the heads
Of what I do not wish to see,
But it has always haunted me.
Too many lives have been given to the cause,
That one day will make men equal,
But I will not live to see the day.
My stride is weary for all the strain
But I will keep on riding the train.
To the end of line I will go
Knowing that in the end that the government of the people, shall not perish from the Earth.

Leave a Reply

