A Child’s Twas The Evening Before Christmas

Twas the evening before Christmas, when all through the house;
All was quite in the house and so was the lone mouse;
Downstairs the stockings were hung by the chimney with care,
Hoping that St. Nicholas soon would be there.

I was nestled all snug in my bed, trying to sleep into Christmas dreamland;
Hoping sugar-plums would finally dance in my head,
While in the other room my parents were fast asleep.

When on the roof I thought I heard the prancing and pawing of a hoof.
I jumped from my bed to see if was true, opening the blinds and looking through.

Outside the snow was lightly falling to the ground;
The moon shining looked as white as the snow.
All looked quite as can be, maybe it was my imagination says me;
I tried to go back to sleep but it was not to be.

I could not sleep for I knew St. Nicholas was coming,
I was too excited as a young child could be.
I quietly got out of bed; opened the door;
Tiptoeing, making no sound at all.

I reach to the stair landing, looking down into the darken abyss.
I started to descend as quietly as I could
But, stopped myself for I thought I heard sleigh bells nearby.

I crept back to the bedroom; jumped into my bed;
Closed my eyes for it must be St. Nicholas coming;
Go to sleep I must, for I want him to come to my house tonight.

And there I went into my Christmas dreamland,
Hoping that tomorrow would be coming.
As I was heading into the tunnel of dreamland
I thought I heard from somewhere,
Merry Christmas to all and all a goodnight.

Note: based on a memory as child and basing it on Twas the Night Before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

