Dearest Child

Dearest child of my heart
I wish I could give you all I know.
You are my life of the world.
The apple of my eye;
The smiles when times are blue.
I wish I could give you the stars from the sky
That remind me of your twinkling eyes.
I would catch the stars that shine so bright
And let you keep them until they lose light.
Then together we will throw them back to the sky;
Cause I know you would rather not let them die.
I wish I could keep you as a child still
With your youthful light shining through
But soon I know;
I will have to watch you grow;
Leaving your childhood behind
To start the chapter of your life too soon.

Leave a Reply

