Dog Days of Memories

What the dog days of memories
From long ago creep in my mind;
I sigh with the thoughts
Of those good days now past.
That I wish I could go back
Relive one of those memories
That was so good to me.
I can’t go back to those days,
For they must be left in the past;
But I can relive in my mind,
The memories of those dog days
That makes me smile whenever they creep in.

April 18th prompt. Write a poem using dead metaphors one or more by using the old meaning or coming up with a new one

Leave a Reply

