Coming Rains

Gray skies appear moving in slowly
Across blue skies yonder; looking threatening.
I watch safety inside as the rains
Begin to poor down in buckets
Upon the ground brown; waiting for their drinks.
Birch tree empty of leaves rustles
Saying, yes, rains come so I may bloom
for this coming Spring; I will show off my leaves.

Rains continue as sky turns to black
For night has come to close the day.
I see white picket fence from window
splattered; getting pelted by the rain storm
That continues coming down; no letting up.
From my window I still hear the birch tree
Soaking up the need rain from above.

April 25th prompt. Write a poem about a color or colors. Include black, white, and gray. After you have drafted your poem, plant a tree in the poem.

Leave a Reply

