Christmas Tree

I
Am cut
From the ground
Brought home to a
Stand filled water; I wait
Stand tall with sweet smelling
Scent of my needles in the air I give willingly
You gather strings of lights; rope them around me,
I begin to twinkle, sparkle, shine within the big room
Little balls, tinsel, angels, ornaments and decorations adorn me
Makes me happy to be part of your tradition of a tree, no a Christmas tree,
With presents underneath my grand splendor, I will keep safely until given out,
Even if I am just
A pine tree from
the outside; I will
Only last a couple of
Weeks until Christmas
Will be over and I will
Be thrown outside once
More in the winter cold.

Leave a Reply

