Death Came Knocking

Death came knocking at my door
But where was I; I wasn’t home.
I wasn’t ready to see him yet
I was traveling the world far and wide
Taking my last days before I say goodbye.
Death waited patiently at my home
I had a note that said I’d be home soon.
He waited there a few days more
Then left a note too; to say he’d back soon.
Death came knocking the following week
Nobody answered; I was still not there.
Death checked the day; saw it was wrong
He came back the end of week;
I was finally there to answer his knock.
I invited him in and he said its time
I took his hand to leave my physical life.

Leave a Reply

