City I Recant You

I have not lived by dazzling lights in night
Twinkling starlight, not found on the highways.
I have not lived among crowded walkways.
I don’t seek to be famous in limelight.
I am not an obsessive shopper
Living crammed between sandwich houses
Have cause no heartbreak in the wee night hours
I have eaten fine steamed fresh lobster but
Tucked quietly away in local joint.
Open air I breathe life, no blocked skies
I live for grassy fields, as I surmise
A look to distant sky, the vantage point
I am cozy with a book tonight
Gazing out open porch on starry night.

Leave a Reply

