Discontent Watching

I regret I was late to watch your kids.
I was stalking a tiger in the wild jungle
With only a stick and a camera
Taking pictures of the cat.
I regret I was late to watch your kids.
I was on my way to pick up ear plugs
From a desert island far away
For you see kids are noisy like howling dogs
Baying beneath the golden moon.
Truth is I don’t know how to watch kids.
For they are always on the go
Like the energizer bunny that keeps going and going.
I am not a disciplinarian.
I am the dog.
I am the one who wants no rules
To play all day with your kids.
You think I could watch your kids
But I am only a dog
Who eats, sleep, and play
Doing things on my own timetable.

One response to “Discontent Watching

Leave a Reply

