Sleeping Dreaming Dog

I lay on my side, four paws out
Close my eyes for sleep
Who knows what dreams may come
Will I dream about chasing deer
Or perhaps I will finally catch the rabbit
Which has eluded me for some time
Maybe I dream of racing through fields
Running faster than I ever did before
For without knowing my physical paws begin to move
Or maybe I still stare down the raccoon
Wrinkling my snout up to utter a growl
Perhaps I dream of the past
which was hard and a scary one
nobody will know what I dream about
For I am only a dog who doesn’t speak

Leave a Reply

