Not Showing On Your Day

I’m sorry I didn’t show.
I was riding the waves on
the back a bottle-nosed dolphin
while blindfolded trying to
take a selfie of the pair of us.
I’m sorry I didn’t show.
I was on my way
when giant rocks came rolling
down the roadway towards me
and I had seconds to drive off
the road into a ditch
filled with green gooey slime.
I regret I couldn’t make it.
I was flying alongside an eagle
on my way to talk to aliens.
I am not the elephant.
I am the mouse
Who is darting away
from walking shoes
which travel the walkway.
I am your brother
shaking my head at you.
I am his words
fizzing out slowly
in your champagne glass.
I am the guarded dog.
I am recording your
life moments in slow
single frame at a time
hoping you will see
the light at the end
of the darken tunnel
where you made your
life committing mistake.

Leave a Reply

