Look Across Dark Empty Space

I look across the dark empty space
Not knowing where my future lies.
Should I plow onward into the unknown–
Or stay hidden within my mother’s bosom
Where I know what lies behind the next bend?
What do I have to fear?
I fear the changes though my mind’s eye.
The sting of voices that are hollow in my ears.
Faces that tell a different story.
The yearning to go back to things I know.
Why should I venture through the unknown?
Comfortable, cozy wrapped in my bed.
I peer over into dark emptiness of space.
Afraid to go through;
Afraid of the great unknown and change that awaits me.

Leave a Reply

