On Cold Nights

On cold winter nights I look to warm bed
Gather heap of blankets to surround me
Then topped nicely with a bedspread
I snuggle down low for a reading spree
On nights like these I can’t resist some poetry
Read a poem that stirs my soul
Warms a glow from cold outside
Brings me in and makes me whole
Another one, from some grand master
Hooks me with vivid imagery
As they echo their voices from distant past
Through music on a cold winters night
And this cold night shall hear words
Of poets from past and present
I let their words fill me
Till I find solace, find a pen to write my own poetry

Leave a Reply

